Questions: Kent Thomas, District Advancement Chair,

Click here to nominate someone by January 3rd.
Click here to see past award recipients from the Salt River District.  

Rocket Award:

The Gila River Rocket Award is awarded to an individual who has been active for a year or less and has been an energizer and source of enthusiasm within their scouting unit. This person is a stand-out, showing great promise for a future of leadership and service. The Award recognizes their contributions and acknowledges the recipient has been a rocket of action, encouraging their continued service and dedication to the unit. (Maximum of 7 to be awarded)


Star Scouter Award:

This award recognizes Adult Scouters who dedicate their time to promoting the Spirit of Scouting to others in service to the District.  This includes service such as coordinating District Program, Advancement Committee, Round Table or serving on the District Committee. (Maximum of 4 to be awarded)


District Scout of the Year:

This award celebrates scouts that exhibit faithfulness in their religious duties, desirable qualities of character defined in the Scout Law, patriotism and civic responsibility/citizenship, courage, self-reliance, and personal fitness. (Maximum of 3 to be awarded)


Green Machine Award:

The Gila River Green Machine Service award recognizes Adult Scouters who have been working directly with the youth in their units for more than 10 years. This includes positions such as Cub Masters, Den Leaders, Scout Masters, Advisors, and the Assistant Leaders to these positions. (Maximum of 7 to be awarded)


Paul Ruff Award:

This award is Gila River District’s Outstanding New Commissioner Award and is named in honor of Commissioner Paul Ruff.  Paul was a US Navy Veteran and was also a professor at Arizona State University. Paul Ruff committed many years of his life to the scouting program including service as our District Commissioner.  This award is presented to the new Commissioner who has gone above and beyond their normal commissioner duties. (Maximum of 3 to be awarded)


Theo LeBaron Service Award:

The Theo LeBaron award is named after a longtime Scouter who gave almost 3 decades of service to the District.  He was active in every part of scouting from Scoutmaster to Committee Member as well as Commissioner Service in the District, always going above and beyond to help Scouts and the scouting program.  This award is based on truly exceptional service and tenure for both unit and District level support and is meant to recognize Scouters who have shown the same dedication to scouting as legacy left by Theo LeBaron. (Maximum of 1 to be awarded)


Scout Family of the Year:

This award seeks to recognize a Scouting family or Scouting families for their efforts on behalf of Scouting, both as individuals and as a family. In order to receive this award, both adults and youth must be registered members of the BSA and have demonstrated outstanding contributions in Scouting within the past year. (Maximum of 3 to be awarded)


District Award of Merit:

The BSA District Award of Merit is the highest award that the District can bestow upon a dedicated adult Scouter. The adult scouters recognized for this award have, in the eyes of their peers, rendered noteworthy service to the youth both in scouting and in their community.  They have served their units faithfully, often going above and beyond the call of duty. In addition to serving their home units and the community they also dedicate additional time to helping the District function. (Maximum of 4 to be awarded)